Bo Wallace wins 2012 Conerly Trophy

Ole Miss quarterback Bo Wallace took home some hardware Tuesday night.

Days removed from generating 334 yards of offense and tossing five touchdowns in the Rebels' 41-24 win over Mississippi State, the sophomore won the C Spire Conerly Trophy, as Mississippi's top college football player in 2012.

Wallace received the trophy during a special awards program in Jackson, Miss., at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. He joined four other Rebels as former winners of the award -- quarterbacks Stewart Patridge (1997) and Eli Manning (2001 and 2003), running back Deuce McAllister (1999) and linebacker Patrick Willis (2006).

“This has been a very strong year in terms of individual and overall performance and leadership among all of the schools who submitted nominees for the award," said Jim Richmond, vice president of Corporate Communications for C Spire Wireless. "Our winner is not only a great football player, but an outstanding young man with good character, a strong record of community involvement and a terrific work ethic.”

Under new coach Hugh Freeze, Wallace helped lead the Rebels to a 6-6 record and their first bowl berth since 2009. He also guided Ole Miss to three SEC wins after the Rebels opened the year with 14 straight conference losses.

Wallace passed for 2,843 yards with 19 touchdowns, ran for another 363 yards and eight touchdowns and scored a touchdown on a 25-yard pass. He finished the season sixth in the SEC with a 144.20 quarterback rating this year. His 3,206 total offensive yards made him only the second player in school history to eclipse 3,000 yards in a season behind Manning, who reached that total twice during his Ole Miss career. Wallace’s eight rushing touchdowns are the most by an Ole Miss quarterback since Eli’s father, Archie, in 1969.

Joining Wallace as finalists were Mississippi State cornerback Johnthan Banks, Southern Miss defensive lineman Jamie Collins, Jackson State wide receiver Rico Richardson and Delta State offensive tackle Kendall Hunter.

The six Conerly Trophy victories by Ole Miss are more than any other school. Mississippi State and Southern Miss have each won the award four times.