Muschamp, Sumlin up for Coach of the Year

Florida coach Will Muschamp and Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin are two of nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, given annually to college football's best coach.

After a 7-6 debut with the Gators in 2011, Muschamp guided Florida to an 11-1 record during the regular season. The Gators finished the season ranked third in the BCS standings and will play Louisville in the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Sumlin stepped in at A&M in his first year and helped lead the Aggies to a 10-2 season that included a win over No. 1 Alabama in Tuscaloosa in their first season in the SEC. He also has the Heisman front-runner, redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel.

These two coaches are joined by:

  • Gary Andersen, Utah State

  • Dave Doeren, Northern Illinois

  • Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

  • Urban Meyer, Ohio State

  • Bill O'Brien, Penn State

  • David Shaw, Stanford

  • Bill Synder, Kansas State