SEC coaches All-SEC team announced

The 2012 All-SEC coaches' team was announced on Tuesday, and Alabama was well represented.

The SEC champions led the league with eight members, including six on the first team. Florida was second with seven, while Georgia and Tennessee had six each.

Ten SEC schools had a member on the first team. Alabama led with six, while Florida had five and Texas A&M with four. LSU, South Carolina and Texas A&M had five apiece among the two first- and second-teams, while Mississippi State was next with four.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Georgia running back Todd Gurley were the only freshmen to make the All-SEC team. Manziel was the only newcomer to make the first team. Florida's Mike Gillislee and Alabama's Eddie Lacy shared the first-team running back spots, despite Gurley finishing the year as the SEC's top rusher (1,260 yards).

Ole Miss was the only team not represented. Not even wide receiver Donte Moncrief made the cut, despite catching 60 passes and ranking fifth in the SEC with 948 yards. Hed was second in the league with 10 receiving touchdowns. Moncrief was left off the Associated Press All-SEC team as well.



TE -- Mychal Rivera, Tennessee

OL -- Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

OL -- Chance Warmack, Alabama

OL -- D.J. Fluker, Alabama

OL -- Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

C -- Barrett Jones, Alabama

WR -- Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas

WR -- Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

QB -- Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB -- Mike Gillislee, Florida

RB -- Eddie Lacy, Alabama

AP -- Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee


DE -- Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DE -- Sam Montgomery, LSU

DE -- Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

DT -- Sharrif Floyd, Florida

LB -- Jarvis Jones, Georgia

LB -- C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB -- Kevin Minter, LSU

CB -- Dee Milliner, Alabama

S -- Matt Elam, Florida

S -- Eric Reid, LSU

CB -- Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State


K -- Caleb Sturgis, Florida

P -- Kyle Christy, Florida

RS –- Ace Sanders, South Carolina



TE -- Jordan Reed, Florida

OL -- Larry Warford, Kentucky

OL -- Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

OL -- Chris Burnette, Georgia

OL -- Dallas Thomas, Tennessee

C -- T.J. Johnson, South Carolina

WR -- Ryan Swope, Texas A&M

WR -- Justin Hunter, Tennessee

QB -- AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB -- Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB -- Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt

AP -- Ace Sanders, South Carolina


DE -- Barkevious Mingo, LSU

DT -- Sheldon Richardson, Missouri

DT -- John Jenkins, Georgia

DE -- Corey Lemonier, Auburn

LB -- A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

LB -- Jon Bostic, Florida

LB -- *Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State

LB -- *Alec Ogletree, Georgia

S -- D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina

S -- Bacarri Rambo, Georgia

S -- Robert Lester, Alabama

CB -- Darius Slay, Mississippi State


K -- Drew Alleman, LSU

P -- * Dylan Breeding, Arkansas

P -- * Richard Kent, Vanderbilt

RS -- Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee

* Denotes a tie