SEC crowds 2012 AP All-America teams

The SEC showed once again that it has a little bit of talent lurking around the league. The 2012 Associated Press All-America team was announced on Tuesday, and the SEC led the rest of the conferences with nine representatives on the first team.

Some of the usual suspects made the first team, like Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to make the AP first team, while four Alabama players -- center Barrett Jones, guard Chance Warmack, cornerback Dee Milliner and linebacker C.J. Mosley -- made the first team.

The Crimson Tide led the nation with four first-team players and was the only school to have more than two players selected on the first team. Jones became a two-time first-team selection. Alabama had six players on all three teams, as tackle D.J. Fluker made the second team and quarterback AJ McCarron made the third team.

Mississippi State cornerback Johnthan Banks was put on the second team after winning the Thorpe Award for the nation's best defensive back. Missouri defensive tackle Sheldon Richardson was left off all three teams, despite a great first year in the SEC. He finished the season as one of the SEC's top defensive tackles, ranking second on Missouri's team with 75 tackles. He also had 10.5 tackles for loss and four sacks, while forcing three fumbles -- recovering two -- breaking up three passes and blocking one kick.

Florida safety Matt Elam also claimed one of the safety spots on the AP first team. Florida and Texas A&M were behind Alabama with four players making all three teams.

Here are the 2012 AP All-Americans from the SEC:



QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

OT: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

OG: Chance Warmack, Alabama

C: Barrett Jones, Alabama


DE: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

LB: Jarvis Jones, Georgia

LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama

CB: Dee Milliner, Alabama

S: Matt Elam, Florida



OT: D.J. Fluker, Alabama


DE: Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

LB: Kevin Minter, LSU

CB: Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

S: Eric Reid, LSU



QB: AJ McCarron, Alabama

OT: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

OG: Larry Warford, Kentucky

WR: Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas


DE: Sam Montgomery, LSU

DT: Sharrif Floyd, Florida

Special teams

K: Caleb Sturgis, Florida

P: Kyle Christy, Florida