Mason, Sam pick up top SEC honors

The 2013 Associated Press All-SEC team is out, and Auburn's Tre Mason was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Missouri's Michael Sam the Defensive Player of the Year.

Gus Malzahn, who has Auburn in the VIZIO BCS National Championship Game in his first season, was named the SEC Coach of the Year.

There were some interesting selections, not to mention omissions, on the first and second teams.

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, who was named the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner on Monday, didn't make first- or second-team All-SEC. Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel was the first-team quarterback in voting by the media, and Georgia's Aaron Murray was second team.

McCarron earned honorable mention along fellow SEC quarterbacks Nick Marshall of Auburn and Zach Mettenberger of LSU, but South Carolina's Connor Shaw didn't even receive honorable mention despite throwing 21 touchdown passes and only one interception this season in leading the Gamecocks to 10 wins.

Mason and Sam were the only unanimous selections along with Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley.