An SEC 'roadblock' coming on Jan. 1

The SEC will get plenty of early exposure beginning this year during the New Year's Day bowl lineup.

With ESPN reaching a new agreement with the Gator Bowl and also extending agreements with the Capital One Bowl and Outback Bowl, that means three different SEC teams will be playing at the same time this Jan. 1.

This year, the Capital One Bowl will kick off an ESPN tripleheader at 1 p.m. ET and will match the first choice out of the SEC (after the BCS selections) against the first choice out of the Big Ten. The Rose Bowl Presented by Citi and then the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will follow the Capital One Bowl on ESPN.

Also on Jan. 1, the Outback Bowl will be televised by ABC and kick off at 1 p.m. ET. It previously had been televised by ESPN with an 11 a.m. kickoff time. The Gator Bowl will kick off at 1:30 p.m. ET and be televised by ESPN2. Both the Outback and Gator bowls will also match the SEC against the Big Ten.

Under these new agreements, ESPN has exclusive rights to televise the Gator Bowl and Outback Bowl through 2014 and the Capital One Bowl through 2018 annually on Jan. 1. ESPN360.com and ESPN Mobile TV can simulcast ESPN and ESPN2 telecasts each year.

This will mark the first year that ESPN will televise all five of the BCS bowls -- also including the Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl and Tostitos BCS National Championship -- exclusively.