Awards named after former Georgia stars

Two of Georgia's past football stars will have special awards named after them, Georgia coach Mark Richt has announced.

Heisman Trophy winner Frank Sinkwich and Maxwell Award winner Charley Trippi will be honored with annual awards beginning this fall. The Sinkwich Award will be given to Georgia's "toughest player" and the Trippi Award will be awarded to Georgia's "most versatile player."

"Frank Sinkwich had to be tough by playing seven games with a broken jaw in 1941," Richt said. "By winning the Heisman Trophy, he was also a great player. I have always heard that Charley Trippi was the most exciting player of his time. It must have been a special experience to see these two great Georgia players compete on the field. It's appropriate to have two awards honoring Sinkwich and Trippi, both of whom were great players, graduates of the university and always willing to give back to their alma mater."

Sinkwich, who was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame in 1954, didn't allow his broken jaw to get the best of him in 1941, as he helped lead the Bulldogs to a 9-1-1 record, including gaining 382 total yards of offense in the Bulldogs' 40-26 win over TCU in the Orange Bowl. During his Heisman year in 1942, Sinkwich helped lead Georgia to an 11-1 record that included an SEC and national championship.

Sinkwich was later drafted in the first round by the Detroit Lions in 1943 and was named an All-Pro in 1943-44. Sinkwich is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame, the State of Georgia Sports Hall of Fame and his Georgia jersey was retired in 1943.

Trippi won the Maxwell Award in 1946 after helping to lead the Bulldogs to an 11-0 record, an SEC championship and Sugar Bowl victory over North Carolina. He was both a regular on offense and defense, punted, and was a kick returner. Trippi was the first pick in the 1947 NFL draft. In his first season, he helped lead the Chicago Cardinals to the 1947 NFL title.

Trippi was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, Pro Football Hall of Fame, Rose Bowl Hall of Fame and State of Georgia Sports Hall of Fame. His Georgia jersey was retired in 1947.