Nine from the SEC named award finalists

Finalists for major college football awards were announced Monday even, and nine players from the SEC are up for awards.

Most notably, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, who has become a Heisman frontrunner, is up for the Maxwell Award as the nation's best all-around player. He's also a finalist for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones and South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney are finalists for the Maxwell Football Club's Chuck Bednarik Trophy, which is given to the defensive player of the year.

The awards will be given out Dec. 6 (7:30 p.m. ET, ESPN). A nomination special is set for Nov. 20 on ESPNU (6 p.m. ET).

Here are the other SEC finalists: