Bengals' Lewis Wins AP Coach of the Year

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Marvin Lewis - 2010 AP Coach of the Year

Bengals head coach Marvin Lewis had more to worry about than football this season on his way to winning his first AP Coach of the Year award. In a year filled with tragedy, he guided his team to a 10-6 record and an AFC North championship. Defensive coordinator Mike Zimmer unexpectedly lost his wife, Vikki in October; then in December the Bengals lost a teammate when Chris Henry fell off the back of a pick-up truck. Despite the grief of those losses, Lewis rallied the team to only their second division title since 1990. Lewis received 20.5 of the 50 votes, beating out Sean Payton (11.5 votes) and Norv Turner (9 votes) for the award.