NSCS Brickyard 400 Preview

Jimmie Johnson

NSCS Brickyard 400 pres. by Golden Corral, 1:19 ET (ESPN)

Three drivers will seek a spot in history at Sunday’s Brickyard 400. Polesitter Juan Pablo Montoya will try to become the 1st driver ever to win both the Indianapolis 500 (2000) and the Brickyard 400. Jeff Gordon, who leads all drivers with 4 career wins at this race, will try to join Michael Schumacher (Formula 1) as the only drivers in any series to win 5 times at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Jimmie Johnson, meanwhile, will try to become the only driver ever to win 3 straight at the Brickyard 400. In 4 of the last 5 years, the driver who won the Brickyard 400 went on to win the Sprint Cup Series championship.

Starting Grid|NASCAR Live! Sprint Cup on ESPN.com

Note: The Elias Sports Bureau and ESPN Stats and Information group contributed to this report.