And The Award Goes To: NHL Honors For Hollywood Hockey Stars


These guys would never win the Stanley Cup, but could one of them pull off a Lady Byng Memorial Trophy?

Each summer, the NHL honors the top players from the previous season. And each winter, the Academy Awards honor the top movies from the past year. However, not a single award has been handed out to the best Hollywood hockey players – until now.

At SportsCenter.com, we believe those hockey stars of the silver screen deserve their due recognition … and that’s why we’re giving out NHL Awards to the best players from such classic films as "The Mighty Ducks," "Slap Shot" and "MVP: Most Valuable Primate" (remember that gem?). So. The awards go to ... .

Jack Adams Award (Top Coach)

This one is a no-brainer -- Gordon Bombay (Emilio Estevez) of "The Mighty Ducks." His ability to take a rag tag team and turn them into peewee champions in a matter of one season is truly remarkable.

Vezina Trophy (Top Goalie)

Jim Craig (Eddie Cahill), the goalie for Team USA in "Miracle" gets this one. Yeah, the movie is based on the true story. So what? Craig's fantastic goal-tending helped the United States pull off the impossible.

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenseman)

The otherwise injury-prone defenseman, Dave "Killer" Carlson (Jerry Houser), wins this award for the defense of his captain/coach, Reggie Dunlop (Paul Newman), during one of the funniest fight sequences (of many) in "Slap Shot."

Calder Memorial Trophy (Top Rookie)

The unanimously decided winner is Jack the Chimp from "MVP: Most Valuable Primate." During his first season on a junior hockey team, Jack led the team to the finals thanks to there being no rules against chimps on hockey teams. You can't ask more from a rookie than that.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Best Sportsmanship)

Ned Braden (Michael Ontkean) of "Slap Shot" wins this award for consistently standing up against the brutal style of hockey his team plays. Also, we've got to hand it to a man who would rather do an on-ice strip tease than get into fights.

Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

Without a doubt, the player who was most valuable to his team would have to be Charlie Conway (Joshua Jackson) of "The Mighty Ducks." After all, it was his consistent play that got his team to the finals. And his scoring on penalty shot that won it all.

Congrats to all of our winners! If only we could give a "Runners-Up Award" to the team from "Mystery, Alaska."