Awards season underway

Awards season is here. First, Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was named the recipient of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given annually to the nation’s top quarterback who best exemplifies outstanding character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments.

“Andrew personifies everything that my father stood for. He is an outstanding quarterback and an outstanding individual, a leader both on and off the field,” John C. Unitas, Jr., President of The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, said in a released statement.

Luck passed for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns for a 167.5 passer rating in leading fourth ranked Stanford to an 11-1 record. He quarterbacked the Cardinal to back-to-back seasons of at least 11 wins for the first time ever, and now ranks first on Stanford’s all-time career list for touchdown passes (80), total offense (10,043 yards), and completion percentage (.664).

Beyond his numbers on the field, Luck carries a 3.48 cumulative grade point average and was selected to the Pac-12 Conference’s All-Academic First Team.

The Cardinal also dished out some team awards -- the majority of which are voted on by the players.

The recipients:

  • Kevin Anderson, Jordan Pratt, Andrew Stutz: Greg Piers Team Award (top scout team player).

  • Max Bergen, Alex Debniak: Phil Moffat Team Award (top special teams player).

  • David DeCastro: Frank Rehm Team Award (top lineman in the Big Game).

  • Ben Gardner: Deswarte-Ellar Team Award (top sophomore).

  • Ryan Hewitt: Frank Rehm Team Award (top back in the Big Game).

  • Delano Howell: Jack Huston Team Award (unheralded efforts).

  • Andrew Luck: Tommy Vardell Team Award (top senior/junior); Irving S. Zeimer Team Award (team MVP).

  • Ty Montgomery: Menlo-Atherton Team Trophy (top freshman).

  • Chris Owusu: Jim Reynolds Team Award (senior with courage).

  • Stepfan Taylor: Gundelach Team Award (top junior).

  • Michael Thomas: Al Master Team Award (leadership/respect).

  • Griff Whalen: Team Technician Award (strength and conditioning).