The Cubs are the first team to 90 wins in 2016

Jon Lester has a 1.65 ERA in his last 10 starts, and the Cubs have 90 wins this season. AP Photo/David J. Phillip

It took a few tries, but the Chicago Cubs are the first team in baseball to reach 90 wins this season. They reached 90 wins in their 140th game.

The last time the Cubs started 90-50 or better was in 1929. That team needed only 133 games to get to 90 wins and it went on to win the National League. Chicago lost to the Philadelphia Athletics in the World Series that year, 4-1.

Jon Lester tossed seven scoreless innings and Kris Bryant drove in the only runs of the game with his 37th home run of the season, most by a Cubs player since Aramis Ramirez had 38 in 2006.

Here are a few more times where the number 90 has come up in Cubs history.

No. 90 in Cubs history

It has been 86 years since the Cubs last won 90 games in back-to-back seasons, the way they now have in 2015 and 2016. The 1929 season mentioned above was the second of three consecutive 90-win seasons for the Cubs.

The Cubs' franchise has won exactly 90 games in a season four times. The first instance was in 1886 as the Chicago White Stockings, a team that lost in the postseason to the St. Louis Browns. They also won 90 games in 1930 (missed the postseason), 1932 (swept in the World Series) and in 1998 (swept in the NLDS).

Sammy Sosa, Billy Williams and Ernie Banks each had 10 seasons with at least 90 RBIs for the Cubs. That's the most 90-RBI seasons by a Cubs player since the stat became official in 1920.

Bryant, who is up over 90 RBIs for the second time in as many seasons, is the only Cubs player since 1920 to reach the 90-RBI mark in either of his first two seasons. Addison Russell could join him on that list as he is only two away.

Banks had 90 triples in his 19-year Cubs career, seventh most in franchise history. For comparison, Dexter Fowler has the most triples by an active Cubs player with 14.

Only two Cubs pitchers have over 90 wins with the team in the last 30 seasons -- Greg Maddux (131) and Carlos Zambrano (125). Jake Arrieta is the franchise's active leader in wins with 52, 20 more than anyone else.