Oregon wants to be Chip off the old block

AP Coaches of the Year Coaching
In BCS National Championship Game

Chip Kelly of Oregon was named the Associated Press Coach of the year today with 24 votes, edging out Gene Chizik of Auburn who received 17. Only six other coaches received a vote and none of them got more than five.

The coaches of the top four teams in the BCS Standings -- Oregon, Auburn, TCU and Stanford -- combined to receive 49 of the 55 votes that were cast.

Kelly is the fourth AP Coach of the year to coach in the BCS National Championship game. The previous two coaches to win the award and coach in the BCS Championship won the game, which is good news for the Ducks.