Diamondbacks clinch fifth division title

They've only been around since 1998, but the Arizona Diamondbacks already have five division titles under their belt. Number five came Friday when they beat the San Francisco Giants 3-1. Arizona's last division title came in 2007 when they got as far as the NLCS before the Colorado Rockies swept them.

The Diamondbacks were 65-97 (.401) in 2010 posting the third-worst win percentage in all of baseball. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, Arizona tied the major-league record for most losses in the previous season by a team that finished in first place. Two other teams won division titles coming off 65-97 records the previous year: the 1991 Braves (who lost in the World Series) and the 1999 Diamondbacks (who were defeated in the N.L. Division Series).

Kirk Gibson joined former manager Bob Brenly as the only Diamondbacks' managers to win a division title in their first FULL season as an MLB manager. Brenly's 2001 team went on to win the World Series against the New York Yankees. Buck Showalter and Bob Melvin also won division titles with the Diamondbacks.