Top storylines: CFP National Championship

Chuck Cook/USA TODAY Sports

Marcus Mariota and Cardale Jones are leading their teams into a historic national title game.Historic matchup

Ohio State and Oregon will meet for the championship in the first year of the new College Football Playoff, and it's not the first time these programs have matched up in the first year of a new postseason format.

Back in 1939, the Ducks and Buckeyes faced off in the final of the first NCAA basketball tournament, with Oregon earning the 46-33 victory.

The Ducks got the win on the hardwood, but it's been all Buckeyes on the football field. Ohio State is 8-0 all-time against Oregon, with two of those wins coming in bowl games. The silver lining for the Ducks is that the Pac-12 has gone 6-1 against the Big Ten so far this season.

Streaks on the line

Both teams enter the national championship on significant winning streaks. Ohio State's 12-game streak began following its Sept. 6 loss to Virginia Tech and ranks as the longest active streak in the FBS.

Oregon During 9-Game Win Streak

The second-longest active streak in the nation belongs to Oregon (nine), and the Ducks have been nothing short of dominant during that stretch.

During the nine-game streak, Oregon is winning by an average of 27.4 points per game, and has spent just 44 total offensive plays trailing.

The Ducks have scored at least 40 points in each of those nine games.

Bid for history

Individuals are in line to make history on both sides of this national championship game. Marcus Mariota will try to continue a recent trend of Heisman Trophy winners adding a national title in the same season.

With a victory over Ohio State, Mariota would be the fifth player since 2004 to win the Heisman and the national championship in the same year, joining Matt Leinart, Mark Ingram, Cam Newton and Jameis Winston.

On the other sideline, head coach Urban Meyer is trying to join Nick Saban as the only FBS coaches ever to win titles at multiple schools. He would also be the 11th coach to win three or more titles in the AP poll era.