Anderson grounds the Tigers

AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez

Brett Anderson was dominant for
the Athletics in a must-win game

Brett Anderson didn’t show any jitters in his postseason debut, allowing just two hits in six scoreless innings.

It is just the fourth time that an Oakland Athletics pitcher has put up a pitching line at least that good in postseason history and the first since Vida Blue threw a two-hit shutout against the Orioles in Game 3 of the 1974 ALCS.

Anderson Staying Grounded

Anderson got it done by keeping the ball on the ground. Of the 18 outs he recorded, 11 came on the ground and six were strikeouts.

The Tigers were kept off balance by Anderson’s breaking ball which ranged in velocity from 75 MPH to 86 MPH. All six of his strikeouts came with his faster breaking ball, all thrown between 83 and 84 MPH. Seventy-four percent of Anderson's breaking pitches were down in the zone or below it, the second-highest percentage of his career.

Crisp Steals Another Homer

The lone fly ball out Anderson got was dramatic as Coco Crisp robbed Prince Fielder of a would-be home run.

According to Baseball Info Solutions, Fielder has been robbed of a homer three times in 2012, more than any other player.

In addition to Crisp’s robbery Tuesday, he has seven regular-season HR robberies since 2004. Only three players have more regular-season HR robberies than him in that span (Torii Hunter 12, Jason Bay 9, Ichiro Suzuki 8).

Tigers vs Athletics
Postseason Since 2006

Shutout Notes

For the Athletics, the shutout was the 11th in their postseason history and the first since Game 2 of the 2001 ALDS against the Yankees.

It is the first time they’ve allowed four hits or fewer in a postseason shutout since the 1981 ALDS against the Royals.

According to Elias, it was the eighth time a team used four or more pitchers in a nine-inning shutout while allowing no more than four hits in a postseason game. The last time came in Game 1 of the 2008 ALCS when the Red Sox blanked the Tampa Bay Rays behind Daisuke Matsuzaka, Hideki Okajima, Justin Masterson and Jonathan Papelbon.