Torre, Cox lead year of legendary exits

With Bobby Cox and Joe Torre both retiring at the end of the season -- and with Lou Piniella having retired last month -- it begs the question: Is this the best year for coaching/managing legends exiting in one particular sport?


There have been other years in which legendary managers/head coaches all left the game together; however, Cox, Torre and Piniella are all in the top 15 on the all-time wins list. They have combined for six World Series titles, and Cooperstown most likely awaits for both Cox and Torre.

Here are some other years in which legends exited together in the four major sports (although not all these exits were retirements).

Let the debate begin.



Bobby Cox: Currently fourth on all-time wins list, 14 straight division titles, one World Series title

Lou Piniella: Currently 14th on all-time wins list, one World Series title

Joe Torre: Four World Series titles, currently fifth on all-time wins list


Billy Martin: .553 win pct., one World Series title

Chuck Tanner: One World Series title

Dick Williams: Two World Series titles, currently 18th on wins list


Joe McCarthy: Seven World Series titles, currently eighth on all-time wins list

Connie Mack: 53 years as manager, all-time wins leader, five World Series titles



Hubie Brown: 13 NBA seasons, won one ABA title

Rudy Tomjanovich: Two-time NBA champion

Lenny Wilkens: Currently second-most wins in NBA history, one NBA title


Cotton Fitzsimmons: 832 wins, currently 13th on all-time list

Dick Motta: Currently 10th on all-time wins list, one NBA title


Jack Ramsay: Currently 12th on all-time wins list, one NBA title

Gene Shue: 22 seasons, currently 14th on all-time wins list



Bill Cowher: One Super Bowl win

Dennis Green: 13 seasons, 113 wins

Bill Parcells: Two-time Super Bowl Champion

Marty Schottenheimer: 200 career wins


Tom Landry: 29 seasons, 250 wins, two Super Bowl titles

Bill Walsh: .609 win pct., three Super Bowl wins



Pat Burns: 501 career wins, one Stanley Cup title

Glen Sather: Four Stanley Cup titles

Brian Sutter: 451 career wins


Scotty Bowman: Nine Stanley Cup titles, all-time wins leader

Roger Neilson: 16 seasons, 460 wins

Bold = Member of Hall of Fame