Defending champs return to Boston

BOSTON -- Reigning Boston Marathon champions Geoffrey Mutai and Caroline Kilel lead the field of elite runners for the 116th edition of the event.

The men's elite field announced by organizers Thursday includes last year's third-place finisher and 2010 New York City champion Gebre Gebremariam; 2010 Boston champion Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot; 2011 Amsterdam and Rotterdam winner Wilson Chebet; and 2011 Chicago second and third place finishers Wesley Korir and Bernard Kipyego.

Jason Hartman and Antonio Vega are the only Americans in the elite field.

In addition to Kilel, the top women include Sharon Cherop and Caroline Rotich, who finished third and fourth, respectively, in Boston last year. They'll be joined by 2011 New York City winner Firehiwot Dado.

The race is scheduled for April 16.