Robert Stieglitz win changed to TKO

Super middleweight titlist Robert Stieglitz notched another knockout on Monday even though he has not fought since July 13.

The result of Stieglitz's victory against Japan's Yuzo Kiyota was changed from a 10th-round technical decision to a technical knockout after a video review of the bout, the WBO, whose 168-pound title Stieglitz holds, announced.

Stieglitz, 32, a native of Russia fighting out of Germany, made the first defense of his second title reign in Dresden, Germany, on July 13 and put on a dominant performance against Kiyota (23-4-1, 21 KOs).

Stieglitz (45-3, with an updated 26 KOs) was originally awarded a technical decision on lopsided scores of 100-89, 99-90 and 99-90 when the fight was stopped in the 10th round because of heavy bleeding from a cut over Kiyota's left eye. Referee Celestino Ruiz ruled that the cut, which opened in the eighth round, had been caused by an accidental head-butt.

In the ninth round, Ruiz called timeout so the ringside doctor could examine the cut, which was getting worse. Finally, in the 10th round, Ruiz had the doctor look at the cut again, and this time the doctor told Ruiz to stop the fight because the cut was too severe and Kiyota was unable to continue. Ruiz stopped the bout, sending it to the scorecards for a technical decision.

However, the German Boxing Association examined the video of the fight and determined that it was not an accidental head-butt that caused the cut, rather a punch, so it changed the result of the fight, a move the WBO supported.