How to bet the PGA Championship

Rory McIlroy has two wins in seven starts at Quail Hollow. Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

After hitting the U.S. Open with Brooks Koepka, our luck ran out in The Open, as Rickie Fowler never got it going. Marc Leishman finished a respectable sixth, but that was about it. We'll give it one more shot in the final major of the year at Quail Hollow this week.

While we all expect a big-name player to win a major, this course has served up some unlikely winners in PGA Tour events (see James Hahn, Derek Ernst and Sean O'Hair). Each of those wins has come since 2009, and while the course has undergone some significant changes, players still have an idea what to expect here.

Will it be Rory McIlroy or a first-timer? Six of the last eight PGA winners were first-timers. The lone exception was Rory -- twice. McIlroy won majors number two and four at the PGA Championship in 2012 and 2014. As mentioned above, Quail Hollow has seen some lesser known names win the Wells Fargo Championship, and that would go hand in hand with some of the unpredictable winners of the PGA Championship. Of the eight players who have won majors while being ranked outside the top 100 in the world, four of them have done so at the PGA Championship, and two of those (Keegan Bradley in 2011 and Y.E. Yang in 2009) have come in the previous eight editions of this event.