Jesse Rogers ESPN Staff Writer 

Why can the Cubs be better in 2017? John Lackey: "We got rid of Ross. He stinks. He can't hit. I was just inside talking to him. He said that....Ross would tell you, Willy (Willson Contreras) is better than he is. Let's be honest."

Jesse Rogers ESPN Staff Writer 

The Cubs set a new spring attendance record averaging 15, 219 fans per game for a total of 226, 933 for the Cactus League. Including two WBC exhibition games against the Cubs, 251, 899 came through the doors at Sloan Park.

AP Photo/Paul Beaty
20dJoe Peta

Predicting Cubs' 2017 record

Joe Peta thinks the Chicago Cubs, with a World Series title in hand, cruise through the regular season a bit and may not reach their Vegas win total of 95.5.

ESPN Staff  

A giant picture of the missed goaltending call from Northwestern's 79-73 NCAA tournament loss to No. 1-seeded Gonzaga was hung from the Northwestern arch on Wednesday. (@NUWildside/Twitter)

Dylan Buell/Getty Images
9hPaul Lukas

Uni Watch: Chicago Cubs

The Cubs will follow the lead of other recent MLB champions and wear gold-accented uniforms. Set to be worn during the home opener (April 10) and ring ceremony (April 12), the gold-accented jerseys include a "World Series champions" sleeve patch.


Jesse Rogers ESPN Staff Writer 

Video: Earlier this morning Joe Maddon gathered his team around these 162 baseballs which represent the season broken up by months. He wanted to remind them of the ups and downs that occur every year. For example, a 3 game slump means little up against 159 other games. The last 11 balls represent the 11 wins needed to repeat as champions.

Josh Weinfuss ESPN Staff Writer 

Cardinals coach Bruce Arians has developed a friendship with Chicago Cubs manager Joe Maddon over the years. Arians said during the NFC coaches breakfast on Wednesday that he not only loves Maddon's t-shirt line, but he learns a lot from just watching Maddon. "Just such a great dude, man," Arians said. "He's so smart. His leadership skills are fantastic and we're both from central Pennsylvania so we hit it off pretty good."

Nick Friedell ESPN Staff Writer 

Hoiberg says Dwyane Wade is going through some non-contact drills. He was able to get some shots up. Wade remains out for the rest of the regular season.

Nick Friedell ESPN Staff Writer 

Cris Felicio went through all of today's practice. Bulls want to see how he responds before making a decision on his status for Thursday's game vs. Cavs.

ESPN Staff  

On Wednesday, Chicago White Sox shortstop Tim Anderson tweeted out a picture of the new car he gave his mom. Last week, the 23-year-old signed a six-year, $25 million contract extension with the White Sox after batting .283 in his first season in the majors. (@TimAnderson7/Twitter)


Jesse Rogers ESPN Staff Writer 

Watch Matt Szczur discuss staying with the Cubs. He was told yesterday after the game he'd made the roster as he's out of minor league options. The team placed Brian Duensing on the DL to make room for him.

Jesse Rogers ESPN Staff Writer 

The Cubs will keep Matt Szczur and Tommy La Stella on the roster for now as pitcher Brian Duensing will begin the season on the DL as he's recovering from back spasms, per Theo Epstein.

Jesse Rogers ESPN Staff Writer 

Though he's not in the lineup again today Addison Russell says his back is 100 percent and thinks he'll play Thursday and/or Friday in Houston. He says he'll be ready for opening day.

Max explains Kris Bryant's father's criticism of LaVar Ball (1:50)
AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast

Predicting White Sox's 2017 record

The White Sox will be living in the shadow of the Cubs for quite some time, but Joe Peta fears they may do so from the cellar of the AL Central for at least a few seasons.

ESPN Stats and Information  

Jimmy Butler does well with the spotlight on him and not on Dwyane Wade. All five of these statistics show better production for Butler with Wade off the court, including a nearly seven-point jump.