Frozen Four off to Chicago for 2017

CHICAGO -- The Frozen Four will be held at the United Center in Chicago in 2017, the NCAA announced on Wednesday.

The event will be held in conjunction with the University of Notre Dame on April 6-8, 2017, and it will mark the first time the Division I men's hockey championship will be played at the United Center.

"Hosting these NCAA championships is a tremendous opportunity to showcase Chicago as the first-class sports destination that it is," Chicago mayor Rahm Emanuel said in a statement. "I look forward to welcoming the NCAA student-athletes, coaches, and fans to one of the country's greatest and most spirited sports cities."

Chicago Blackhawks chairman Rocky Wirtz was also pleased to host the games at the United Center.

"We are incredibly proud to welcome the Frozen Four to the United Center in 2017," Wirtz said in a statement. "Along with our partner, the University of Notre Dame, we cannot think of a better hockey community to host this national championship and know what a powerful economic impact it will have on the city of Chicago. Since privately built in 1994, the United Center and the west side of Chicago have been home to countless memorable moments and we have no doubt that this marquee event will add to that legacy."

The Frozen Four will be held in Philadelphia in 2014, Boston in 2015, Tampa, Fla. in 2016, and St. Paul, Minn. in 2018.