Bears announce captains

Cutler, Ogunleye new faces in corps

September 8, 2009, 5:24 PM

By: Jeff Dickerson

The Bears have announced their captains for the 2009 season: Olin Kreutz, Jay Cutler, Brian Urlacher, Adewale Ogunleye and Patrick Mannelly.

Cutler and Ogunleye are the new additions this year, replacing Kyle Orton and Mike Brown. This current group of captains has a combined 14 Pro Bowl appearances between them (Kreutz 6, Urlacher 6, Cutler 1, Ogunleye 1).

For his part, Mannelly snapped every punt and kick for the Bears from 1998 to 2000 and from 2003 to '08, and has totaled 70 career special-teams tackles.


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?