Jonathan Toews a Messier finalist

Three captains were named finalists for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award on Tuesday, as Los Angeles' Dustin Brown, Anaheim's Ryan Getzlaf and Chicago's Jonathan Toews made the list.

The award is given to the player "who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season."

Messier, who was known for his leadership qualities throughout his NHL career, determines the finalists and award winner. This season's winner will be announced at the 2014 NHL Awards on June 24 in Las Vegas.

Daniel Alfredsson won the award last season while with the Ottawa Senators. Brown and Toews were finalists last season. Brown has been a finalist for the award three times, Toews twice and Getzlaf once.

"It's always an honor to be recognized for these awards," Toews said in a statement. "It's a great reflection of what your team and your teammates have helped you accomplish when you get that individual recognition."

Other past winners include Shane Doan (2012), Zdeno Chara (2011), Sidney Crosby (2010), Jarome Iginla (2009), Mats Sundin (2008) and Chris Chelios (2007).