ESPN Network: | | | | ABCSports | EXPN | INSIDER | FANTASY   

Wednesday, November 19, 2003
Classic Kentucky Derby

Classic Derby
ESPN Classic celebrates the Kentucky Derby with a look back at some of the most memorable moments, horses and jockeys in racing's premiere event.
  • Q & A with Jerry Bailey
  • Chat Wrap: "Seabiscuit" author Laura Hillenbrand discusses her best-selling book and the Derby
  • Audio: Curt Gowdy on the Kentucky Derby

  • Kentucky Derby entry Corker is walked around the paddock at Churchill Downs before the 122nd running of the Kentucky Derby.

    ESPN Classic
    Friday's Kentucky Derby Road Show Schedule
    All times Eastern
    Noon - Kentucky Derby Road Show Live
    5 p.m. -Thoroughbred Classics: Kentucky Derby
    6:30 p.m. - Up Close Classics: D. Wayne Kukas
    8 p.m. - SportsCentury: Citation

    Classic Horses/Moments
    Murray: Qualifying for the Derby
    Classic sportswriter Jim Murray wrote that horses And people should have to qualify for the Derby.

    Classic Derby moments
    ESPN Classic looks back at seven great moments in Kentucky Derby history.

    Secretariat remains No. 1 name in racing
    The true measure of Secretariat's greatness was his performances in big races. Secretariat started 21 times and won 16, including the 1973 Triple Crown.

    Citation was born to run
    Citation, racing's first millionaire horse, won the Triple Crown in 1948.'s Kentucky Derby coverage
    Check out's coverage of the 2001 Kentucky Derby
    Seattle Slew exceeded expectation
    Seattle Slew is the only horse in history to make it through the Triple Crown undefeated.

    Affirmed and Alydar was racing's greatest rivalry
    Affirmed and Alydar battled frequently, with much at stake and little separating them.

    Arcaro was 'Master' of Triple Crown
    In a span of 18 years, Eddie Arcaro, known as "The Master," rode a record 17 winners in Triple Crown races.

    Shoemaker had grip on racing
    In 42 years of racing, Bill Shoemaker used his "soft hands" to guide 11 Triple Crown winners, 1,009 stakes race winners and win 10 national money titles.

    Send this story to a friend | Most sent stories