McFadden picked as Walter Camp Player of the Year

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Arkansas running back Darren McFadden
was honored as the 2007 player of the year Thursday by the Walter
Camp Football Foundation, the first player from his school to
receive the honor.

McFadden, a junior, beat four quarterbacks for the award: Chase Daniel of Missouri, Dennis Dixon of Oregon, Matt Ryan of Boston
College and Tim Tebow of Florida.

The announcement by foundation president John Barbarotta came
two days before the Heisman Trophy was to be handed out in New

Also Thursday, McFadden was announced the winner of the Doak
Walker award, which is given to the country's top running back.
McFadden won the award for the second straight year; he and Ricky
Williams are the only players to win the award twice.

McFadden is the 41st recipient of the Walter Camp player of the
year award and the first player from the Southeastern Conference to
win it since Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel in 1996.

The winner was chosen by the nation's 119 Football Bowl
Subdivision coaches and sports information directors. The trophy
will be presented Jan. 12 at the foundation's annual awards banquet
in New Haven.

"We are extremely pleased with the selection of Darren McFadden
as our Player of the Year," Barbarotta said. "His all-around
offensive performance for the Razorbacks -- whether it was running
the ball or passing it -- has been most impressive and extremely
worthy of this prestigious honor."

The 6-foot-2 McFadden set Arkansas single-season records this
year with 1,725 rushing yards and 2,172 all-purpose yards, breaking
the records he set last year. He scored 16 touchdowns and had nine
100-yard rushing games, including a 321-yard effort in a win over
South Carolina Nov. 3 that tied an SEC record.

McFadden led Arkansas to a 50-48 triple overtime upset of then
No. 1 LSU on Nov. 23 with 206 yards rushing, three touchdowns and a
TD pass.

He is the Razorbacks' all-time leading rusher (4,485 yards) and
all-purpose yardage leader (5,743).

Arkansas will play Missouri in the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic on
Jan. 1.

Walter Camp, known as "The Father of American Football," first
picked an All-America team in 1889. The former Yale athlete and
football coach is also credited with developing play from
scrimmage, set plays and the limit of 11 players per side.