Bell awarded Harlon Hill Trophy

FLORENCE, Ala. -- Wayne State running back Joique Bell is the 2009 Harlon Hill Trophy winner as the Division II college football player of the year.

Bell, a senior from Benton Harbor, Mich., received 138 points in the voting of Division II sports information directors, easily outpointing the other finalists.

West Liberty quarterback Zach Amedro was 42 points behind. Arkansas Tech quarterback Nick Graziano was third.

Bell received 31 first-place votes. Amedro got 16.

At the end of the Division II regular season, Bell led all four NCAA divisions in yards rushing per game (189.45), scoring (17.5 points per game), and all-purpose yards (217.5 per game).

He finished with 2,084 yards rushing and 29 touchdowns.