Les Miles leads Eddie Robinson finalists

Les Miles, the coach of top-ranked and unbeaten LSU, leads the five finalists announced Monday for the 2011 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Miles is joined by Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy, Michigan's Brady Hoke, Kansas State's Bill Snyder and Clemson's Dabo Swinney.

Miles' team is 13-0 and already has beaten the second, fifth and sixth teams in the BCS final standings. It will face No. 2 Alabama again in the Allstate BCS National Championship Game on Jan. 9 in New Orleans.

Gundy had hoped his team would supplant the Crimson Tide and meet the Tigers after finishing 11-1 and winning its first outright Big 12 title. Gundy also was a finalist for the Robinson last season.

Hoke engineered a major turnaround in his first season in Ann Arbor. The Wolverines went 10-2, beat Ohio State for the first time in eight tries and earned a bid to the Allstate Sugar Bowl, just one year after going 7-6.

Snyder guided the Wildcats to a 10-2 mark, losing only to Oklahoma State and Oklahoma. They will play in the AT&T Cotton Bowl against Arkansas.

Swinney and the Tigers routed Virginia Tech, 38-10, in the Atlantic Coast Conference title game to clinch a BCS bowl berth. Clemson (10-3) posted its first 10-win season since 1990, beating the Hokies twice, and claimed its first league title since 1991.