Big 12 has 10-team schedule ready

IRVING, Texas -- The Big 12 Conference has a 10-team football schedule put together for the 2012 season, though not for everyone to see yet.

As required by their television contracts, the league provided a full schedule to its TV partners by Feb. 1, which was Wednesday. The schedule includes Big 12 newcomers TCU and West Virginia.

The Big 12 says it expects to release the schedule publicly "in the near future." That could be complicated by West Virginia's lawsuit against the Big East, and that league's countersuit.

WVU is challenging the Big East's bylaws in a bid to join the Big 12 next season. The Big East argues that WVU breached its contract with the conference and should remain there for 27 months, as required by the bylaws.