Athletic directors in mix for panel

HOOVER, Ala. -- Current athletic directors will be part of College Football Playoff's selection committee, sources said Wednesday.

The "working concept" is to have one athletic director representing each of the five power conferences (ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC), sources said. It is unknown whether any current athletic directors from the remaining conferences (American, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt) would be on the committee.

The decision to have current athletic directors on the selection committee starting in 2014 is a change from the BCS commissioners originally not having them on the committee. In May, SEC athletic directors said they were told that current athletic directors would not be on the selection committee.

"There was a strong belief [to include current athletic directors]," a source said.

Another source said it is "highly, highly unlikely" the selection committee will release weekly rankings. This is the final year of the BCS, which provides weekly rankings after the midpoint of the season.

College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock has said previously that no current commissioners, coaches or media members would be on the committee, which will determine the four teams in the playoff.

Besides current athletic directors, former coaches, athletic directors and administrators will be on the committee, which is expected to consist of 12 to 20 members.

Hancock also has said previously there could be one retired media member on the committee.

Hancock said there were more than 100 individuals nominated to be on the committee by the 10 FBS conferences and independent schools.

"We want to have people of high integrity," Hancock said, "and people with the courage to make difficult decisions."

Starting after the 2014 regular season, the selection committee will be responsible for selecting the four teams for the College Football Playoff semifinals along with the other teams that will participate in the four New Year's Eve and New Year's Day major bowls.

The committee also will be responsible for pairing the teams in the four New Year's bowl games that are not hosting the national semifinals.

The first semifinals will be at the Rose and Sugar bowls on Jan. 1, 2015. The first College Football Playoff championship will be Jan. 12, 2015, at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.