Conference reaches 4 bowl deals

The American Athletic Conference has extended its agreements with the Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl in St. Petersburg, Fla., and the BBVA Compass Bowl in Birmingham, Ala., for six years, starting in 2014.

The AAC also agreed to a deal to send teams to the Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth, Texas, and the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl in Honolulu in alternating years for six years, starting in 2014.

The AAC will face a Southeastern Conference team in Birmingham. The St. Petersburg bowl has a deal to send a Big 12 team to the game three times in six years and a Conference USA team the other seasons.

Meanwhile, a new bowl game beginning in 2014 in Boca Raton, Fla., featuring teams from Conference USA, the Mid-American and the AAC will be officially announced Friday morning, sources told ESPN's Brett McMurphy.

The game will be played on Florida Atlantic's campus at FAU Stadium. An 11 a.m. ET news conference has been scheduled for Friday at FAU.

The Boca Raton Bowl is one of four new bowls that will be created by the non-power five conferences (C-USA, MAC, AAC, Mountain West and Sun Belt) in 2014, sources said. There are expected to be 38 bowl games in 2014, not including the College Football Playoff championship game, meaning there will be bowl spots for 76 teams.

Information from ESPN's Brett McMurphy and The Associated Press was used in this report.