2016 ScheduleAll times ET

2016 Schedule
3-4, 7th in Big 12
AP Photo

Huge disparity in Big 12 coaches' salaries

Oklahoma's Bob Stoops ($5.55 million) and Texas' Charlie Strong ($5.2 million) have the fourth- and sixth-biggest paychecks in the nation, respectively. Kansas' David Beaty makes $801,169 per year. Ivan Maisel's notes

AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki

Longhorn's rising?

Baylor is at Texas, and Chris Fallica is making a bold choice, going with the beleaguered Longhorns at home with the points plus-3 and an outright win. Best Bets (Insider)

Sue Ogrocki/AP Photo
21hJeremy Crabtree

Rival recruiters ready to pounce on Texas

Questions about Charlie Strong's job have cratered Texas' recruiting. Changing coaches might help, but the Horns have yet to pick up recruiting steam.

Matthew Pearce/Icon Sportswire
23hMax Olson

Week 9 in the Big 12: What to watch for

This week in the Big 12, Baylor takes aim at Texas after a week off, West Virginia faces a tough matchup at Oklahoma State and more.

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Harbaugh's salary tops college football coaches

At $9 million this year, Michigan's Jim Harbaugh displaced Alabama's Nick Saban as the college football coach with the highest salary, according to a USA Today survey.

Tim Heitman/USA TODAY Sports
2dChris Low and Adam Rittenberg

Which coach has the hottest seat?

Charlie Strong continues to have the hottest seat in college football, but Mark Helfrich might not be far behind in Oregon. We update the top 10 jobs in jeopardy after Week 8.

Who's coaching seat is hotter: Strong or Helfrich? (1:30)

Mitch Sherman ESPN Staff Writer 

Bill Snyder explained today the words of encouragement he shared with Texas coach Charlie Strong after Kansas State beat Texas 24-21 on Saturday. Snyder said he likes Strong and the job that he's doing to rebuild the Longhorns. He recognizes, though, that Strong is embattled as he tries to avoid a third straight losing season. "I think college football has gotten out of hand," said Snyder, the longtime KSU coach, "and it's no longer about young people."

Max Olson ESPN Staff Writer 

Texas coach Charlie Strong is 3-4 for the third straight season. An honest assessment from him on Monday: "We've worn that cliche out that we're so close."

In-season firing list hits four, will Strong be No. 5? (1:34)
Tim Heitman/USA TODAY Sports

Will Charlie Strong finish this season?

Texas fell to 3-4 (1-3 vs. Big 12) after losing 24-21 at Kansas State, marking the Longhorns' fourth loss in the past five games. Texas is trying to avoid its third consecutive losing season under Strong, whose record is 14-18 at UT. GameDay Final

Jared Shanker ESPN Staff Writer 

The seven undefeated teams all play on the road this week, and five lost to their Saturday opponent in their last meeting. Second-ranked Michigan and No. 7 Nebraska are on three-game losing streaks to Michigan State and Wisconsin, respectively. The undefeateds (and their fans) might want to make it through this weekend before thinking playoff.

Kevin Jairaj/USA TODAY Sports
6dAdam Rittenberg

Big 12 expansion candidates 'disappointed'

Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby says expansion candidates were disappointed by league's decision to remain at 10 members.

Mitch Sherman ESPN Staff Writer 

"It's hard," Texas quarterback Shane Buechele said, "just to see things you could have done." The Longhorns had plenty of chances today at Kansas State, losing 24-21, but the outcome was no different than in its other three road games this year. The loss puts Texas under .500 for the first time this season, an all too familiar spot in this third season under coach Charlie Strong.

Team Stats

Passing Yards255.445th
Rushing Yards222.129th
Points For36.1Tied-28th
Points Against32.6Tied-99th

ESPN Fan Shop Powered By

  • Nike Men's Texas Longhorns Burnt Orange Championship Drive Hybrid Football Performance JacketShop

  • Nike Men's Texas Longhorns Burnt Orange Championship Drive Hyperspeed Football Performance HoodieShop