Year Opened: 1915
| Field Surface: Artificial Turf
One of the oldest stadiums in the nation, Hemingway Stadium opened in 1915 and was originally named after Judge William Hemingway, a law professor and athletics chairman. John Vaught's name was added in 1982. The veteran coach won three national titles for the Rebels. The field was dedicated to Dr. Jerry Hollingsworth, a longtime benefactor of the school.
The stadium has seen numerous upgrades, including state-of-the-art video and audio facilities, and field surfaces. It became the state's largest facility in 2002 when capacity was raised to its current 60,580.
The Grove at Ole Miss has been called out by several publications as one of the best venues to tailgate in the country. The 10-acre grassy area features scores of red-and-blue tents under oak, elm and magnolia trees. Revelers bring out their finest China, literally, along with silver-plated goblets and candelabras. Male fans get decked out in their Saturday finest, and coeds often are seen in cocktail dresses.
Throughout The Grove, and about anywhere else on campus, fans will yell out the "Hotty Toddy" cheer, which dates to the 1930s, although its exact origin is unknown: "Are you ready? Hell, yes! Damn, right! Hotty toddy, gosh almighty. Who in the hell are we? Hey, flim flam, bim bam. Ole Miss, by damn!"
The "Walk of Champions" is a tradition that dates to coach Billy Brewer in 1983. Brewer wanted to get his team involved in The Grove experience, so he had his team walk a different route to the stadium for every home game. They started treading the same route in 1985. A few hours before every home football game, the Ole Miss football team and coaches walk from the student union building, then under the Walk of Champions arch and through The Grove on their way to the Starnes Training Center and the game.