O'Connor is coach of year; Howser finalists named

June, 13, 2009
Impressed by Brian O'Connor's leading Virginia to its first College World Series appearance? You're not alone.

O'Connor was named National Coach of the Year by the National College Baseball Writers Association on Saturday, and was the only coach to have his name on every voter's ballot.

After winning the ACC tournament as the 6-seed, O'Connor's Cavaliers (47-13-1) won the Irvine Regional and then defeated Mississippi in the Oxford Super Regional to make their way to Omaha. The Cavs go up against LSU at 7 p.m. ET (ESPNHD, ESPN360.com).

O'Connor follows Fresno State's Mike Batesole (2008) to become the second recipient of the award.

Meanwhile, three players were named finalists for the Dick Howser Trophy: North Carolina's Dustin Ackley (1B), Arizona State's Mike Leake (RHP) and San Diego State's Stephen Strasburg (RHP). The award, which will be presented on July 2, is given out to the collegiate player who best embodies Dick Howser's spirit and character.


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?