Last projection of tournament field

It's almost here! In just over 12 hours, the 64-team field for the NCAA baseball tournament will be revealed (Monday at noon ET on ESPNU).

The hosts were announced Sunday night, and there were few surprises. Heading into the weekend, there were 19 teams vying for the 16 hosting spots. In the end, Houston, Texas and Washington fell short.

Washington struggled down the stretch and its RPI dropped outside the top 25. The Huskies lost series against probable national seed Oregon State and defending champion UCLA, which has struggled this season. With no regional in Seattle, this is the first time since 2004 that only two western sites are among the 16 hosts.

Houston and Texas were both ranked in the top 12 in RPI but finished lower than expected in the conference standings.

Six of the national seeds have been locked in for several weeks -- Florida, Oregon State, Virginia, Indiana, Florida State and Louisiana have been at the top of the list since early in the season.

The last two spots have been contested all season, and the competition went down to the final day of the season.

TCU finished one game behind Oklahoma State during the regular season, but with a win over the Cowboys in the Big 12 title game the Horned Frogs split four meetings and finished several spots higher in RPI. The Big 12 is second to the SEC in RPI, so TCU earns the national seed.

The race for the final spot came down to four teams from the Southeast. LSU, Miami (Fla.), Ole Miss and South Carolina finished the week with almost identical résumés. But only the Hurricanes (ACC regular season) and LSU (SEC tournament) won titles. The Tigers earn the spot with their top-10 RPI.

Over the last week, the bubble got smaller as Liberty and Sam Houston State lost in their respective conference tournaments. That's likely to cost the ACC and Big West one bid each on Monday.

Without any further delay, here's a final prognostication on how the field will look when it's revealed on Monday.

Last five in: Stanford, Cal State Fullerton, North Carolina, Illinois, UCF

First five out: Clemson, UC Irvine, New Mexico, Mercer, Tennessee