Hermann Trophy winners announced

ST. LOUIS -- Stanford senior midfielder Teresa Noyola and Duke junior forward Andrew Wenger are the winners of the Hermann Trophy as the top NCAA Division I soccer players.

The awards, announced Friday by the Missouri Athletic Club, were decided in voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

Noyola, the third straight Stanford winner following Kelley O'Hara (2009) and Christen Press (2010), scored the winning goal in the College Cup final against Florida State to lead the Cardinal to their first national championship. Noyola had nine goals and 15 assists last season. She played for Mexico last year in the Women's World Cup.

Wenger led the Atlantic Coast Conference with 17 goals and 42 points and ranked fourth nationally in points and sixth in goals. He's the fourth Duke player to win the crystal soccer ball trophy.