Pawuk tops Hammonds for win

LAS VEGAS -- Rookie Darrell Russell won his second Top Fuel
race of the season Sunday at the NHRA's ACDelco Nationals.

Ron Capps, Mark Pawuk and Shawn Gann also were winners on The
Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Russell blasted down the quarter-mile in 4.602 seconds at 319.67
mph to defeat points leader Kenny Bernstein. He made a pass of
4.689 at 308.78.

Capps scored in Funny Car, getting his third victory of the
season when final-round opponent Bob Gilbertson fouled.

Pawuk got out fastest to win his first Pro Stock race this
season with a run of 7.033 at 196.07. He beat former NBA player Tom
Hammonds who posted a quicker run of 6.994 at 197.68 but lost
because Pawuk got away from the line much faster.

Gann earned his first career Pro Stock Motorcycle win, covering
the distance in 7.352 at 182.92. He held off Antron Brown, who got
down in 7.374 at 181.57.