Dorsey wins Maxwell, Crouch snags O'Brien Award

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) -- Miami quarterback Ken Dorsey won
the Maxwell Award and Nebraska's Eric Crouch took the Davey O'Brien
quarterback trophy Thursday night during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Dorsey and Crouch are two of the four Heisman Trophy finalists,
along with Florida's Rex Grossman and Oregon's Joey Harrington. The
Heisman, college football's top individual award, will be presented
Saturday night in New York (ESPN, 9 p.m.).

Dorsey, who led No. 1 Miami (11-0) to a perfect season and a
spot in a national title game in the Rose Bowl, was chosen over
Grossman and Crouch.

The Maxwell, voted on by Division I-A coaches, the Football
Writers Association of America and members of the
Philadelphia-based Maxwell Football Club, goes to the best
all-around player.

Dorsey completed 184 of 318 passes for 2,652 yards with 23 TDs
and nine interceptions.

Crouch, who won the Walter Camp Award earlier in the day, won the O'Brien quarterback award over Grossman and
Harrington. Crouch, who led Nebraska to an 11-1 record, ran for
1,115 yards and 18 TDs, and passed for 1,510 yards and seven

BYU's Luke Staley, who ran for 1,582 yards and led the nation in
scoring with 28 touchdowns, won the Doak Walker Award as the
nation's best running back, beating out Maryland's Bruce Perry and
Tennessee's Travis Stephens.

North Carolina defensive end Julius Peppers won the Chuck
Bednarik Trophy for the nation's top defensive player, adding to
the Lombardi Award he received Wednesday as the top college
lineman. Peppers won over Oklahoma's Rocky Calmus and Syracuse's
Dwight Freeney.

Bryant McKinnie, Miami's massive left tackle, won the Outland
Trophy as the best interior lineman, beating out Tennessee's John
Henderson and Nebraska's Toniu Fonoti.

Other award winners Thursday night were LSU wide receiver Josh
Reed (Biletnikoff Award), safety Roy Williams (Jim Thorpe Award),
and Purdue punter Travis Dorsch (Ray Guy Award).

Reed, who led the nation in receiving with 90 catches for 1,680
yards, won over Wisconsin's Lee Evans and Florida's Jabar Gaffney.

Williams won the Thorpe over Texas' Quentin Jammer and Miami's
Ed Reed; and Dorsch won the kicking award over Miami's Freddie
Capshaw and Oklahoma's Jeff Ferguson.