Bohn's Second Player of the Year Award is No Fluke

For the second time in his career, Parker Bohn III was selected by his peers and named 2002 Chris Schenkel Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) Player of the Year. Bohn, Jackson, N.J., received 83% of the votes, followed by Pete Weber with 10%. The 38-year-old, who also won the award in 1999, becomes the ninth bowler to win the honor more than once. He led the Tour with five wins during 2001-02, matching a personal, single-season record set in '99. He also had one second place finish and three thirds.

"Winning for a second time is more special because it proves the first wasn't a fluke," said Bohn. "There are players of the year every season, but very few have won it more than once. That puts me in more of an elite category. I'm honored that the membership at large voted me as their player of the year again."

Bohn finished the season with 29 career titles, ranking him fourth all-time. In the process he became the second-most winning left-hander in PBA history, passing Mike Aulby and trailing only Earl Anthony's 41 titles.

The highlight of Bohn's five wins was the first major victory of his 17-year career, the 2001 American Bowling Congress (ABC) Masters in Reno, Nev. He also earned victories in the National Bowling Stadium National/Senior Doubles with partner Rohn Morton (Reno, Nev.), his tournament namesake PBA Empire State Open (Latham, N.Y.), the inaugural PBA Earl Anthony Memorial Classic (Kirkland, Wash.), and the season-ending PBA Battle At Little Creek (Virginia Beach, Va.).

Bohn led the Tour in earnings ($245,200), championship round appearances (nine), match play appearances (25), cashes (27), games bowled (829) and was one of only nine players to bowl all 30 tournaments.

The award carries the name of long-time television play-by-play announcer Chris Schenkel. Schenkel provided commentary for the PBA Tour for 36 years and was elected to the PBA Hall of Fame in 1976.

Also receiving votes were Chris Barnes, Jason Couch, Michael Haugen Jr., Patrick Healey Jr., Doug Kent, Ryan Shafer, Robert Smith, Brian Voss and Walter Ray Williams Jr.

Bohn, too, walked away with the 2002 George Young High Average Award at 221.54, topping Jason Couch's 220.93. The award is named in memory of PBA Charter Member George Young. Young, who enjoyed much of his bowling success in the Detroit area, fell victim to cancer at the height of his career in 1960.

Bohn also won the 2002 Harry Smith Point Leader Award with 380,659 points. Walter Ray Williams Jr. was second with 336,374. The point leader award is named after Harry "The Tiger" Smith. Smith was the Tour's first point leader in 1963. Bohn also claimed the point and average awards in '99.

Past PBA Player of the Year Winners

*2002 - Parker Bohn III
2000 - Norm Duke
1999 - Parker Bohn III
1998 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1996 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1995 - Mike Aulby
1994 - Norm Duke
1993 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1992 - David Ferraro
1991 - David Ozio
1990 - Amleto Monacelli
1989 - Amleto Monacelli
1988 - Brian Voss
1987 - Marshall Holman
1986 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1985 - Mike Aulby
1984 - Mark Roth
1983 - Earl Anthony
1982 - Earl Anthony
1981 - Earl Anthony
1980 - Wayne Webb
1979 - Mark Roth
1978 - Mark Roth
1977 - Mark Roth
1976 - Earl Anthony
1975 - Earl Anthony
1974 - Earl Anthony
1973 - Don McCune
1972 - Don Johnson
1971 - Don Jonnson
1970 - Nelson Burton Jr.
1969 - Billy Hardwick
1968 - Jim Stefanich
1967 - Dave Davis
1966 - Wayne Zahn
1965 - Dick Weber
1964 - Bob Strampe
1963 - Billy Hardwick

*The 2002 Player of the Year Award is based on the 2001-02 season. Due to the change from a yearly to seasonal schedule, all tournaments in 2001 contested prior to the beginning of the new seasonal schedule were included as part of the 2001-02 season.