Kevin Seifert NFL Nation 

The NFL said Thursday that an unsportsmanlike conduct foul on Cowboys WR Brice Butler during the divisional playoff round was properly called. According to the league, Butler violated Rule 5, Section 2, Article 8(e), which it said has been on the books since 1955. It prohibits substitute players from moving past the painted numbers on the field and then leaving without participating in one play. In response to a tweet from former NFL executive Michael Lombardi, NFL senior vice president Dean Blandino said he has not spoken to any teams about a potential error on the call. Blandino supported referee Tony Corrente on the decision.

Jake Trotter ESPN Staff Writer 

Texas Tech DT Breiden Fehoko announced over Twitter that he plans to transfer. Fehoko, a former ESPN 300 signee from 2015, started for Tech as a true freshman. His departure is a blow to a defense that ranked last nationally in total defense this past season.

Baylor basketball managers show off skills with trick shots (1:13)
Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images

Corey Pronman

Looking ahead to the future? Here are the best drafted players currently outside the NHL, led by Clayton Keller and Mathew Barzal. Ranking the top 50 NHL prospects

Pudge honored to be fourth Puerto Rican in the Hall (2:17)

Jerry Crasnick ESPN Senior Writer 

Pudge Rodriguez on Yadier Molina: "If he stays healthy, he's going to be the next Puerto Rican catcher in the Hall."

Rodriguez gets emotional when getting into the Hall (0:33)
Kurkjian: 'If you love baseball, this is a good day for the Hall' (1:14)
Ivan Rodriguez elected to Hall of Fame (0:24)

Jayson Stark ESPN Senior Writer 

The Hall of Fame class of 2017: Jeff Bagwell (86.2 pct), Tim Raines (86.0 pct), Pudge Rodriguez (76.0). Biggest surprises: Vlad Guerrero misses being a first-ballot Hall of Famer by 15 votes. And Trevor Hoffman still falls 5 votes short after getting 67.3 pct last year. No eligible player has come that close & not made it the next year since Tony Perez in 1999.

William Weinbaum ESPN 

Pudge Rodriguez is the first Hall of Fame electee whose primary team was the expansion Texas Rangers/Washington Senators (Nolan Ryan's plaque has a Rangers cap, but he pitched more games for the Angels & Astros). Jeff Bagwell is the second Hall of Fame player from the Astros and Tim Raines the third from the Expos.