Texas Motorsports HOF honors Gibbs

Former Washington Redskins coach Joe Gibbs will be inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame -- located right in the heart of Dallas Cowboys territory.

Gibbs, who won three Super Bowls with the Redskins, also has won three Sprint Cup championships as owner of Joe Gibbs Racing. He'll be honored April 16, during NASCAR's weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, as the 12th member of the Hall of Fame.

"It's a great honor to have been selected into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame, and I want to thank everyone with the Speedway and all those that voted for me to receive this recognition," Gibbs said in a release.

"I'm not so sure everyone in Texas would agree with them judging by some of the reactions I used to get on the sidelines with the Redskins. But in all seriousness, I have always felt that Texas has some of the best and most passionate fans in the country and certainly their support of the NASCAR community has been outstanding."

Besides the Gibbs induction, the banquet also will recognize outstanding individuals in motor sports. That includes Gibbs' most dominant driver, Kyle Busch, who was named TMS racer of the year after winning all three races in the same weekend in November (Truck, Nationwide and Sprint Cup). He also won the Nationwide Series race in the spring.

Robert Yates, longtime owner and engine builder, is the Bruton Smith Legend Award winner. As an owner, Yates won 57 races between 1989 and 2009, including two Cup victories at TMS. Marcos Ambrose and Jeff Gordon both earned the TMS Sportsmanship Award for their conduct on the track and their dedication to charity work off it.

John Sturbin, who has covered the sport for more than 35 years, is the winner of the first Excellence in Motorsports Journalism Award.

Richard Durrett covers motorsports for ESPN Dallas. You can follow him on Twitter or leave a question for his weekly mailbag.