Peers to honor Nantz, Rushin for sports coverage

SALISBURY, N.C. -- CBS announcer Jim Nantz and Sports Illustrated writer Steve Rushin were named national sportscaster and sportswriter of the year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

The NSSA's 47th annual awards will be presented May 1 at
Salisbury Depot.

The organization also names sportscasters and sportswriters of
the year in almost every state. North Carolina honorees for 2006
are Woody Durham of the Tar Heel Sports Network and John Dell of
the Winston-Salem Journal.

Legendary New York Yankees shortstop and announcer Phil Rizzuto,
and writer W.O. McGeehan, whose "McGeehanism"-laden columns were
a favorite in the now-defunct New York Herald Tribune, will be
inducted this spring into the National Sportscasters and
Sportswriters Hall of Fame.

The association was founded in 1959 by Salisbury restaurant
owner Pete DiMizio to honor regional sportscasters and
sportswriters he had met at the Greensboro Open Golf Tournament.

In 1960, Lindsey Nelson was named the first national
sportscaster of the year and Red Smith was named national
sportswriter of the year. Grantland Rice became the first Hall of
Fame inductee two years later.