Schaar wins 'Outstanding New Limit'

Action sports athletes and football players were the big winners at the second annual ESPN Sport Science Newton Awards, which aired Sunday night.

Skateboarder Tom Schaar, who won gold in Big Air at the 2014 X Games, took the "Outstanding New Limit" award, while snowboarder Kaitlyn Farrington won the "Best Flight" award for her gold-medal-winning performance in the halfpipe at last year's Sochi Winter Games.

Cam Zink, who set a world record last year with his world-record-setting mountain bike backflip, received the "Best Trajectory" award.

While most awards shows are based on a voting process, the Newton Awards are judged on scientific analysis of thousands of athletic performances from 2014.

The show was taped at Phoenix's Herberger Theater during Super Bowl week, and that proved fitting as four of the 10 awards were won by college and pro football players.

Mississippi State running back Josh Robinson took home the "Best Application of Leverage" award, while Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine earned the "Greater Than" award.

Giants wide receiver and offensive rookie of the year Odell Beckham Jr. won "Best Catch" for his amazing one-handed touchdown grab against the Cowboys this past season. Nebraska wide receiver Jordan Westerkamp's behind-the-back catch earned him the "Outstanding Reaction" award.

Also earning an award for an amazing catch was Tampa Bay Rays outfielder Steven Souza Jr., who last season as a member of the Washington Nationals made a diving grab to save Jordan Zimmermann's bid for a no-hitter. That effort earned Souza the "Outstanding Save" award.

Also receiving awards were:

• Wizards guard John Wall, for "Outstanding Agility."

• LPGA golfer Paula Creamer, for "Best Use of Geometry."

• The Los Angeles Kings, for "Most Improbable" for their 2014 Stanley Cup run.