Texas Motor Speedway


• Photo gallery: Tour all 23 Sprint Cup tracksPhoto Gallery | NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule

Texas Motor Speedway has evolved to become one of the key tracks on the NASCAR circuit.

The 1½-mile tri-oval in Fort Worth, Texas, is famous for the cowboy hats it gives its winners and for the fact Jeff Gordon had eluded victory here until taking the Samsung 500 for his lone victory in 2009. Teammate Jimmie Johnson earned his first Texas victory in 2007 during his red-hot run to the title.

Texas is known for having many grooves to pass on. It also has a habit of spreading the wealth. Gordon, Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Stewart, Mark Martin, Dale Jarrett, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth and Kurt Busch have all won here.

It took 11 seasons before any previous winner at Texas won again at "The Great American Speedway." Jeff Burton, winner of the inaugural race in 1997, became the first to accomplish the feat when he won the Samsung 500 in 2007. In 2008, Carl Edwards became the first driver to complete a season sweep at TMS, winning the Samsung 500 in April and the Dickies 500 in November.

3545 Lone Star Circle
Fort Worth, TX 76177
More track news is available through jayski.com.

• Ticket office: 817-215-8500
• Online: Buy tickets | Seating chart
• Pit passes: Available to season-ticket holders only.
• Fan hospitality and special packages: Call the track ticket office for details.

Track specs
• Track length: 1.5 miles
• Banking: Corners -- 24 degrees; dogleg -- 5 degrees; backstretch -- 5 degrees
• Frontstretch: 2,250 feet
• Backstretch: 1,330 feet
• Race length: 501 miles
• Grandstand seating capacity: 138,122
• Opened: 1997

Carry-in items
• Coolers: allowed (14-inch by 14-inch by 14-inch limit)
• Glass containers: not allowed
• Alcoholic beverages: allowed
• Cameras/binoculars: allowed

Souvenirs and displays
• Merchandise: driver and NASCAR merchandise haulers on-site in the Midway, located on the outside of the frontstretch grandstands.
• Scanners: available for rent on-site.


Check local newspapers, TV and the Texas Motor Speedway website for driver appearances; drivers rarely available on race day.

Pit area guidelines

Pit passes available; call the track ticket office for further information.

• Burnout Alley: available
• Reserved: available
• Unreserved: available; call the track ticket office for further information

Associated driving schools
Team Texas High Performance Driving School

Texas Driving Experience

Getting there
Take I-35W north of downtown Fort Worth to State Route 114.

• From Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport:
Take north exit, then west on State Route 114 to speedway.

• Suggested race-day route:

Travel north from Dallas on I-35E to Denton.
At the junction of I-35E and I-35W, turn south on I-35W.
Drive to Dale Earnhardt Way or State Route 114; exit right to speedway.

• Free parking: All parking is free.
• Reserved parking: available
• Handicapped parking: available