UConn C Okafor, G Gordon among Wooden Award nominees

Updated: August 6, 2003, 7:20 PM ET

LOS ANGELES - Connecticut's Emeka Okafor and Ben Gordon headline the group of 50 preseason candidates for the 2003-04 Wooden Award All-American teams, the committee announced on Wednesday.

Okafor and Gordon are among 12 sets of teammates nominated by the committee. Other notable teammates include Syracuse's Hakim Warrick and Gerry McNamara, Kansas' Wayne Simien and Keith Langford, Texas' Brandon Mouton and James Thomas, Duke's Chris Duhon and J.J. Redick, Missouri's Rickey Paulding and Arthur Johnson and Gonzaga's Blake Stepp and Cory Violette.

The nominees include 11 members of the United States Pan Am Games team, which is competing in the Dominican Republic. Arizona State's Ike Diogu and Seton Hall's Andre Barrett are starters on the Pan Am Games squad who were nominated.

The Wooden Award Committee will release a midseason top 30 in mid-January and will select the 10-member All-American team on March 30, 2004. The Wooden Award trophy for the country's most outstanding player will be awarded on April 10, 2004.

This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index