Fife among nominees for Johnny Unitas award

Updated: August 27, 2003, 5:25 PM ET

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Eli Manning of Mississippi, Craig Krenzel of Ohio State and Jared Lorenzen of Kentucky were among 26 quarterbacks announced Wednesday as candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

The award is presented annually to the nation's top college quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

The award is named for Hall of Fame quarterback Unitas, who played at Louisville before his 18-year NFL career with the Baltimore Colts. Unitas died Sept. 11, 2002, at 69.

The nominees were selected by a committee of football experts from across the United States. The committee will choose five finalists on Oct. 22. The winner will be announced during an award presentation in Louisville on Dec. 12.

USC quarterback Carson Palmer won the award last year.

Other candidates, who are judged upon citizenship, academics, leadership and athletic accomplishments, include:

Tate Bennett, Weber State; Casey Clausen, Tennessee; Ryan Dinwiddie, Boise State; Jason Fife, Oregon; Ryan Flanagan, Cal-Davis; Adam Hall, San Diego State; Josh Harris, Bowling Green State; Robert Kent, Jackson State; Asad Abdul Khaliq, Minnesota; Chris Lewis, Stanford; J.P. Losman, Tulane; Scott McBrien, Maryland; Luke McKown, Louisiana Tech; Jon Navarre, Michigan; Cody Pickett, Washington; Scott Rislov, San Jose State; Philip Rivers, North Carolina State; Ell Robertson, Kansas State; Rod Rutherford, Pittsburgh; Matt Schaub, Virginia; Ryan Schneider, Central Florida; Jim Sorgi, Wisconsin; and Bradlee Van Pelt, Colorado State.

Additional candidates could be added at a later date if their performance dictates such inclusion.

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index