Atlantic Sun adds East Tennessee State for 2005-06 season

Updated: October 16, 2003, 7:10 PM ET

ATLANTA -- The Atlantic Sun Conference voted Thursday to add East Tennessee State for the 2005-06 basketball season.

The Buccaneers currently are members of the Southern Conference, but they'll be immediately eligible for the A-Sun championships and automatic bids to NCAA tournaments when they join.

"We feel that the Atlantic Sun will allow us to position our athletic department for success in the years to come," East Tennessee athletic director Dave Mullins said in a statement. "They have emphasized for us the positive impact that we will have on the conference."

The A-Sun will have 11 members for 2005-06 season, including Belmont, Campbell, Central Florida, Florida Atlantic, Gardner-Webb, Georgia State, Jacksonville, Lipscomb, Mercer and Stetson.

Jacksonville State and Samford left the conference after last season to join the Ohio Valley Conference. Troy State will become a member of the Sun Belt Conference next fall.

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index