Santana headlines Twins awards for 2003

Updated: November 3, 2003, 6:30 PM ET

MINNEAPOLIS -- Johan Santana was named Pitcher of the Year and Most Improved Player for the 2003 Minnesota Twins by writers who cover the team.

Santana received the Joseph W. Haynes Award and the Charles O. Johnson Award for going 12-3 with a 3.07 ERA in 45 games, 18 of them starts. He was 8-6 with a 2.99 ERA in 2002.

Outfielder Shannon Stewart, despite playing only half the season in Minnesota, was honored as Most Valuable Player by the Twin Cities chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America. The MVP award is named after the Twins' first owner, Calvin Griffith. Stewart batted .322 in 65 games after being acquired in an All-Star break trade with Toronto.

Outfielder Lew Ford is the winner of the Bill Boni Award, given to the team's top rookie. Ford batted .329 with three homers and 15 RBIss in 34 games and 73 at-bats.

San Francisco right-hander Jim Brower, a native of Minnetonka who played for the University of Minnesota, received the Dick Siebert Award for Upper Midwest Player of the Year. Brower went 8-5 with a 3.96 ERA for the Giants this year in 51 appearances, 46 in relief.

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index