South Korea remains undefeated all-time in LLWS

Updated: August 19, 2016, 8:44 PM ET
Associated Press

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. -- Junho Jeong allowed just three hits and struck out 10 in four innings and South Korea beat Curacao 3-0 on Friday night to improve to 12-0 all-time in the Little League World Series.

South Korea, a team from Seoul, had the bases loaded with no outs in the first inning when Curacao starter Jurrangelo Cijntje switched from throwing left handed to using his right. He struck out the next two before hitting a batter to put South Korea in front 2-0.

The bases were loaded for South Korea again in the second but Curacao, from Willemstad, escaped with a strikeout and a catch in foul territory. Cijntje settled down and threw 90 pitches in 4 1/3 innings, while striking out six.

In the sixth, Jungtaek Ru sliced a RBI single to left field.

South Korea has won the LLWS championship in 1984, 1985 and 2014.

Copyright 2016 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.